Featured Author – Amy Alley part 2

Do you have a special time to write or how is your day structured? Ha ha! I am a solo parent (as in only parent in the picture) who works a full-time day job, so my days are pretty structured with the typical routines that come with working and having a child in primary school. In addition, I maintain a garden, have many hobbies, am currently taking two online college courses, and I run 3 times a week! Despite how this sounds, however, I am not at all rushed or busy and life isn’t hectic. I am anything but ‘too busy’ because I have found a balance and also I do not pressure myself to write a certain amount a day, etc. Some days, I don’t write at all (other than in my head!) Because it is not my sole means of support, I can be flexible with how much time I need to spend on it. (I also have a number of people I correspond to with handwritten notes and letters, which take a bit of time but is so worth it!)

I find I write best when I write in the mornings; however, many days I have to be at work by 6:50 which makes that a bit tricky. I am not one to plan or outline my work, I am a ‘flow’ writer who just sits down when the mood strikes and writes. However, for articles, I may toy around with ideas several evenings, and then polish it all up on a morning when I don’t have to be in so early. Weekends I often rise before dawn to work on a project before my son wakes.

I have more ideas to write about than I’ll ever be able to commit to paper, but I’m okay with that. What I do take time to actually put into words is generally my most authentic message. I’ve been working lately on how to say more with less (though that may not be evident in this interview!) and it’s become a good practice for me. I don’t want to feel I’m saying the same message many times in different posts, articles, etc.

For your own reading, do you prefer e-books or traditional paper/hard back books? Paperback. I use a computer at work but do not like to use it so much at home. Though I appreciate the technology that makes so much possible, the last thing I generally want to do at home is turn on the computer after having to interact with it all day at work. J There are a few blogs I follow and make time to catch up with at least weekly, but to read on a computer would not please me at all!

What book/s are you reading at present? Reading Lolita in Tehran by Azar Nafisi. This book is inspiring me to start a group to study literature here in my town, because I’m moved so much by the experiences she describes. I’ve already listed the classics I think I need to read, based on how they are described in Nafisi’s words! And I definitely would love to discuss them with others. I have always believed reading makes on a better writer, and I’ve always loved books. Real books; I need to hold them in my hand. Old book are even better!

What is your favorite positive saying? Live simply while living as though money is no object. Also, I love and live by ‘lead by example’.

 

Follow Amy’s blog at www.panpanstudios.blogspot.com and you’ll get all the news, posts, and updates! And hopefully a bit of inspiration!

Weekly Musings: http://panpanstudios.blogspot.com/

The Boldness Initiative Blog: http://boldnessinitiative.blogspot.com/

The Absence of Anyone Else http://www.rockpublishing.com/AbsenceOfAnyoneElse.htm

The Absence of Anyone Else, Kindle ebook http://www.amazon.com/dp/B007TIINUU 

Amy Alley

Leave a Reply

