Beginning a Wordless Journey

Beginning a Wordless Journey – Losing My Words

I’ve lost the need to dance with words,
To spill them out on a page,
To engage or to rage;
To enlighten or examine;
To outline or explain.

Once words splashed around inside my head
And spilled like water gushing from a rain spout.
Once, flurries of words came to me in a fever,
I scribbled and scrawled
Getting them down
As if nothing was real
Unless penned down and safe on a page.

Yes, I journaled and blogged,
I wrote letters and lists,
Prepared lectures, penned essays and more.
I wrote reviews and recommendations,
And had stories to share.
Words filled the page
And words were my world.

But life changes;
Suddenly the words are gone.
My pen is retired
And I am surprised to feel so free.

It seems that
In stripping away all that is not me,
I’ve discovered a comfort in silence.
In this cool, dark wordless night where I spend my hours,
Only the stars speak
And they do not need words.

I am without words
But, I do not mourn this loss.
I do not grieve their absence.
I let them fly with grace and humility,
Like ashes in the wind,
I am at peace
And I am set free at last to journey home
Without a word.

Virginia Pulver

Virginia Pulver, MA (Organizational Management), BS (Psychology), AS (Instructor Technology, is retired from the Air Force, where she worked on avionics systems of fighter aircrafts. She worked as a Junior ROTC instructor at Emerald High School in Greenwood and is currently an adjunct professor at Piedmont Technical College. She also teaches some continuing education classes at Lander University. She and her husband, Mark, will be speakers at the Fall Speaker Series at Lander onThursday, Nov. 8, to share their experiences of participation in the Peace Corps (Ukraine, 2005-2007). She participated in adult literacy outreach programs in New Mexico for three years, and has resided in Spain twice. She and her husband began a memorial library in Malawi for their son, Caleb, who died in 2002. They have a daughter, Moriah, and two grandchildren. Virginia has a passion for writing, but also enjoys many other interests, including weaving and knitting, gardening, community theater, and tending to her backyard chickens!

Leave a Reply

